Joan Armstrong

Ronaldah Gorring

Yvonne Lofthouse


President's message

Our work

Social Issues


National International


State information



Contact us

We would like to advise you, that the Archdiocesan Office of Catholic Women’s League Brisbane is on line.

Our email address is:
[email protected]

Hello from Queensland,

In March this year we held our State Council Meeting at Holy Family Church Indooroopilly.

We met for two days and we had two representatives from each of our dioceses – Brisbane, Cairns, Rockhampton, Toowomba and Townsville.   The weekend started badly with all flights into Brisbane from these areas running up to two to three hours late and as a result I spent the whole day back and forth to the airport.

Once the meeting was under way on Saturday morning everything flowed well.    Much discussion took place and we have decided to conduct a survey of members asking for their views on how we can take steps to recruit new members.   On 26th June we have called a special meeting of the State Executive and the president of each diocese to discuss the responses we receive from the survey.

A report from the President of the Townsville Diocese informing us of the progress of plans for the upcoming State Conference to be held in Townsville commencing on 15th September and concluding on 18th September was given bringing us up to date on the plans.   Much work has been done by the ladies of the Townsville Diocese.

Earlier this year two of our members received Australia Day awards.   Ellen Lund of Ayr Branch was awarded Citizen of the Year Burdekin Shire for her work for World Youth Day and Rebecca Cull (pictured right) St George Branch received the Citizen of the year award in the Balonne Shire.   I believe that Recbecca would be one of the youngest members if not the youngest member in Queensland.
Rebecca joins Marie Salmon who received the award in 2004 and Rhonda Barbe who received it in 2006.   These ladies are all members of the St George Branch.

Gert Drain - President Ayr Branch arrives at the monthly meeting

We have chosen “Sow seeds of love to multiply”   as our theme.

The CWL Queensland State Committee are -

President                                 Joan Armstrong (pictured)
Secretary                                 Ronaldah Gorring
Treasurer                                 Yvonne Lofthouse
Social Issues                           Shona Cobham
State International Secretary  Margaret Begg
Bioethics                                  Shirley Greaves
Chaplain                                  Father W McCarthy
Patroness                                Lisa Newman

The State Postal address is

PO Box 2383